• Français
  • English

Orthopaedic Trauma & Fracture Care

Fractures can occur to anyone, at any time in their life. Treatment of a fracture is focused on restoring function as quickly and as fully as possible. While many fractures will heal on their own, some are best treated surgically. Often, surgical treatment will ensure more complete recovery, and allow for restoration of function much quicker. Although fracture care has been a part of orthopedics since its very beginning, specialists in fracture care are committed to using techniques that are both leading edge and time tested to ensure that your recovery is the best it can be

Bone Infection Prevention and Treatment

To prevent bone infections, we make early efforts to decontaminate the bone ends and safely stabilize the fracture to enable healing. If an infection does occur, physicians may use intravenous antibiotics or implanted antibiotic beads that discharge time-released medication. In some cases, surgery may be necessary to removed infected bone and surrounding tissue (a procedure called “debridement”).

The long-term prognosis for patients with bone infection can be excellent if the infection is discovered and treated early.

Geriatric Orthopaedics – Fragility Fractures

As people live longer and more active lives, orthopaedic injuries and fractures that were once uncommon in older adults have become more common. In addition, the expectations are higher that function can be restored after a fracture, even in the more mature individual.

These injuries can occur in almost any bone of the body. Although everyone tends to get weaker bones as they age, sometimes a fracture can be the result of osteoporosis. When that is the case, we will work closely with a patient’s primary care provider to help address the underlying problem and avoid further fractures.

Periprosthetic Fracture Care

In patients with periprosthetic fractures, we strive to preserve the original joint replacement by using fixation devices to stabilize the fracture and encourage healing. This is not always possible, in which case a revision replacement is often a better option. The combined expertise of fracture care and joint replacement is essential in choosing the best […]

Periarticular Fracture Care

Treating periarticular fractures is more complex than treating regular bone fractures, because there are more structures and tissues in the joint that can be damaged as a result of the fracture. Furthermore, the ability to restore the alignment of the fracture fragments directly affects the long term outcome from such an injury

Pelvic and acetabular fractures treatment

Treatment for an acetabular fracture depends on the extent of fracture displacement and hip instability. Surgery is often performed to align the cartilage surface, remove debris from the joint, and restore stability of the hip. These fractures are very serious injuries that are best treated by an experienced orthopaedic trauma surgeon

• Français
  • English

Traumatologie & Traitement des Fractures

Personne n’est à l’abri de fractures; elles peuvent survenir à tout moment de la vie. Le traitement d’une fracture s’efforce de restituer la fonction aussi rapidement et aussi complètement que possible. Si beaucoup de fractures guérissent par elles-mêmes, certaines gagnent plus à être traitées chirurgicalement. Souvent, le traitement chirurgical assurera une guérison plus complète, et permettra une plus rapide récupération de la fonction. Bien que la prise en charge d’une fracture relève du domaine de l’orthopédie et ce, depuis ses débuts, les spécialistes dans les soins de fractures sont déterminés à utiliser des techniques  de pointe et éprouvées afin de s’assurer que votre récupération soit la meilleure possible.

Prévention et Traitement de l’infection osseuse

Pour prévenir l’infection, nous prenons des mesures initiales pour décontaminer les extrémités des os et bien stabiliser la fracture afin de lui permettre de guérir. Si malgré tout l’infection survient, les médecins peuvent avoir recours aux antibiotiques par voie intraveineuse ou aux implants de perles antibiotiques qui libèrent le médicament de manière contrôlée. Il peut être nécessaire, dans certains cas, d’opérer afin d’enlever l’os et les tissus environnants infectés, une procédure appelée “débridement”.

Le pronostic à long terme des patients ayant une infection osseuse peut être excellent si l’infection a été découverte et traitée précocement.

Orthopédie Gériatrique – Fractures de fragilité

Dans la mesure où les gens vivent plus longtemps et mènent une vie plus active, les blessures et fractures orthopédiques, rares auparavant chez les personnes âgées, sont devenues plus fréquentes. Sachant que même les individus plus âgés ont des attentes plus élevées concernant la restauration de la fonction après la survenue de fracture.

Ces fractures peuvent concerner presque tous les os du corps. Bien que chacun de nous soit exposé à avoir des os plus fragiles avec l’âge, une fracture peut résulter parfois de l’ostéoporose. Dans ce cas, nous travaillerons de manière étroite avec le médecin de soins primaires pour aider à régler le problème sous-jacent en vue de prévenir de nouvelles fractures.

Soins d’une Fracture Périprosthétique

Chez les patients présentant une fracture périprosthétique, nous nous efforçons de préserver l’articulation de remplacement primaire, en utilisant des dispositifs de fixation pour stabiliser la fracture et stimuler sa guérison. Ceci n’est pas toujours possible, auquel cas, une reprise du remplacement est souvent une meilleure option. L’expertise dans les soins de fractures alliée à celle […]

Soins d’une Fracture Péri-articulaire

Le Traitement des fractures péri-articulaires est plus complexe que celui des fractures habituelles des os, car il y a plus de structures et de tissus dans une articulation qui peuvent être endommagés à la suite de la fracture.  De plus, la capacité à restituer l’alignement des fragments de la fracture retentit directement sur le résultat […]

Traitement des fractures Pelviennes et acétabulaires

Le Traitement d’une fracture acétabulaire dépend du degré de déplacement de la fracture et de l’instabilité de la hanche. La chirurgie est souvent effectuée pour aligner la surface du cartilage, enlever les débris de l’articulation, et restaurer la stabilité de la hanche. Ces fractures sont des blessures très graves qui sont mieux prises en charge […]